Tag Archives: Census

Ireland Census 1926

There has been an expectation that the data of the Irish Census 1926 will be released in 2016, ten years ahead of the 100 year deadline.  Under current Irish legislation, (the Statistics Act, 1993), census data must be withheld for 100 years.  A huge amount of work will be required to digitise the data and this has not been undertaken yet.  Unfortunately for many researchers the data release is not scheduled for 2016 or soon after.

Census 1901 and 1911 in Ireland – Townland spellings

Ireland has 32 County divisions. These are further sub-divided and a Barony is the largest sub-division which itself has a number of sub-divisions called Civil Parish (Parish) units. The Poor Law Union (PLU or Union) is another division of the Country into about 160 units which does cross County boundary lines at times. The District Electoral Division (DED) is a sub-division of the PLU. Finally the Townland is the smallest unit or parcel of land in Ireland. There are over 65,000 Townlands with names often being repeated, even within a County, but not in the same DED of course.
Frequently there is a difference in spelling of District Electoral Division (DED) names between the 1901 and 1911 Census data in Ireland. Also there are variations in the spelling of Townland names between the 1901 and 1911 Census data.
This section of our website shows the respective spellings for each Census -